Academic Excellence in Art History History and Art History

Presented to the graduating art history major with the highest cumulative and major G.P.A.

2021 Awardees

Janie Ritter

Janie Ritter

Art History

A native Northern Virginian, Janie Ritter is a senior in the Honors College at George Mason University completing majors in art history and psychology, with a minor in studio art. Janie applies her experiences in psychology to investigating the motivations and patterns of behavior of both artists and art audiences. In 2019 she explored the theories and practices of depicting the nude female figure in 17th century Dutch art, questioning specifically why Rembrandt made a dramatic departure from traditional styles. In addition to earning the 2021 Outstanding Project Award, this research will also be presented at the National Conference of Undergraduate Research in the spring of 2021. Janie’s current area of study focuses on audience experience—the viewer’s engagement with art—what an individual brings to the artwork and what they in turn receive from it. She is currently working on an undergraduate thesis investigating audience engagement with abstract art and how museum displays influence that engagement. After graduation Janie plans to be involved with the Prison Arts Programs and explore different approaches of using art to create a bridge between incarcerated individuals and the greater community.

2020 Awardees

Faith Myrick

2019 Awardees

Lana Mason

Emma (Milo) Pilgrim

Emma Simon

2018 Awardees

Franchesca Biafore

Claire Neyland

Lina Zikas

2017 Awardees

Lauren Ammerman

Taylor Chauncey

Courtney Marx

Stefanie Sacripante

Laura White

2016 Awardees

Sierra Medellin

Kaitlyn O'Reilly

2014 Awardees

Gina Nam

Shelley O'Conor

2013 Awardees

Shelby Allen

Rhiannon Talley

Megan Thomas

2012 Awardees

Conor Owens

2011 Awardees

Wilkens Kelsey

Kristen Korfitzen

Meredith Parnes

2010 Awardees

Michelle Roullard

2009 Awardees

Tom Dillickrath

Raphael Sikorra

2008 Awardees

Stacey McKnight

2007 Awardees

Sarah Belkoski

Jessica Farquhar

Madeleine Morgan

2005 Awardees

Ellen Layman

2004 Awardees

Amanda Shoemaker

2003 Awardees

Sonya Baccus

Jessica Legnini

2002 Awardees

Jill M. Dewitt

Karen Horowitz