Josephine Pacheco Award for Best Graduate Research Paper History and Art History

Presented to the graduate history student who submits the best paper during the previous calendar year.

2021 Awardees

David  Armstrong

David Armstrong

“‘A Mischievous Legislature’: The Jacksonborough Assembly of South Carolina, January-February 1782”


David Armstrong is an MA student with a concentration in predoctoral studies. He currently works as a high school history teacher in Fairfax County. David received his bachelor's degree in history from the College of Charleston, SC, in 2007. His research interests focus on early American history, with a particular emphasis on the South Carolina Lowcountry and the Atlantic World. He intends on pursuing a PhD after completing his MA studies. David is awarded the Josephine Pacheco Award for his research paper, “‘A Mischievous Legislature’: The Jacksonborough Assembly of South Carolina, January-February 1782,” written under the supervision of Dr. Rosemarie Zagarri. His research on how South Carolina’s patriot government sought to establish order to the war-torn state. David's essay showed that the state legislature of 1782—known as the Jacksonborough Assembly—tried to re-establish the state’s finances, military defense, and racial hierarchy in the latter years of the Revolutionary War.

2020 Awardees

Chelsea Loane

2019 Awardees

Caitlin Hartweave

2018 Awardees

Laura Crossley

2017 Awardees

Brandan Buck

2016 Awardees

Leo Mayhew

2015 Awardees

Kate Mersiovsky

2014 Awardees

Nick Hoffmann

2013 Awardees

Christina Regelski

2012 Awardees

Nathan Sleeter

2011 Awardees

Scott Ackerman

2010 Awardees

Sheri Huerta

2009 Awardees

John Aiken

2008 Awardees

Carol Dockham

2007 Awardees

Daniel Gifford

2005 Awardees

Steve Carlin

2004 Awardees

Fred Dews